PRception

April 23, 2008

My New Online Social Life

Filed under: Uncategorized — jameslutes @ 11:38 am

Aside from using AOL Instant Messenger in middle school, I typically have shied away from online socializing. It wasn’t until my sophomore year in college that I began regularly using e-mail (I didn’t even have an email address in high school), and it took me even longer to create a Facebook account. As far as I knew, MySpace was the only other social networking site aside from Facebook.

I’m finding out that I have been sorely mistaken. Facebook and MySpace accounts don’t even begin to scratch the surface of the realm of online socialization. I’m quickly learning in my advanced PR writing class there are innumerable ways for associates to keep track of one another of the Web. In the past week I’ve created a PR Open Mic account, a Twitter account, a del.icio.us account, a LinkedIn account, a Google Reader account, and this blog. If I didn’t already have a Facebook account, I would have had to create one of those too.

I’m still feeling a bit overwhelmed by all of this online socialization, but I’m beginning to see the benefit of it. Just this past Monday, I received advice from Les Potter on developing a PR plan that has already proven to be very useful in my PR planning and problems class. And by tracking nearly 30 PR-related blogs at once with Google Reader, I’m getting a sense of what type of problems and issues will arise in my future as a PR practitioner. I’m still skeptical of LinkedIn, and especially Twitter, but I’m willing to give them a fair shot and continue using them.

1 Comment »

  1. James,

    It sounds like you understand and appreciate the value of engaging in social media. It is great that you are joining in the conversations that public relations practitioners and students are having.

    LinkedIn will come in handy for you when you search for jobs. For example, it will allow you to see where my connections are, so if you are applying somewhere, you can see if I can personally connect you with someone. This makes a difference.

    Tiffany

    Comment by tiffanyderville — April 25, 2008 @ 11:40 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

