PRception

April 29, 2008

My First Podcast

Filed under: Uncategorized — jameslutes @ 12:40 pm

This weekend I produced a podcast for the very first time. I can’t say that I’m completely satisfied with the final result, but I thought it was pretty good for a first attempt. The topic of my podcast was the “core and satellite system,” which is a method for speechwriting that was first introduced to me last term by Professor Tom Hagley.

The system was developed by Anett D. Grant, who specializes in teaching public communication skills as the president of the Minnesota based Executive Speaking, Inc.. Basically, the system states that a speech can be written entirely with a “core statement,” “satellites” and “links.” The core statement is a central theme or message that helps streamline the content of your speech. The satellites are subtopics of the speech that address certain features of your core statement. And links are questions that connect (or link) your satellites to your core statement. Ms Grant has supplied the UO’s SOJC with an introductory slide show that explains the basic principles of the core and satellite system. I used this slide show, as well as my notes from Professor Hagley’s class to create the content of my podcast.

I used a free online recording program called Audacity to create my podcast. Recording the podcast was relatively easy but editing it was a near catastrophe. During the original recording of my podcast I stuttered, slurred or said “uh” a number of times. Unfortunately, the only way to remove these miscues was by replaying the recording, identifying the exact moment where I misspoke, and then deleting it. Like I said, I made a lot of mistakes while recording my podcast, so it took me about three hours to edit the entire recording.

After several hours of working on my podcast, I was finally done with the recording. All that was left was to transfer it to iTunes, burn it onto a CD, and create a label for the CD at mediaface.com. I was only able to complete two of these three remaining tasks (I couldn’t access the templates at mediaface.com), but I’m still very happy with my podcast.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

